In these videos Sri Chinmoy explains as well as demonstrates the different types of samadhi (an advanced state of meditation sometimes referred to as contemplation). Sri Chinmoy explains the different forms including savikalpa, nirvikalpa and sahaja. The videos are downloadable by clicking on their titles.

“Samadhi is an exalted and glowing state of Consciousness, whereas realisation is a conscious, natural and manifesting state of Consciousness.

In Savikalpa Samadhi there are thoughts, ideas, but they do not affect the most advanced seeker or the Yogi. The Yogi remains unperturbed. He functions in a dynamic and confident manner.

In Nirvikalpa Samadhi, nature’s dance stops. There is no movement. Everything is tranquil. The Knower and the Known have become totally One. The lover and the Beloved have become One. The Yogi enjoys a supremely divine, all-pervading, self-amorous ecstasy.”

Sri Chinmoy, Earth’s cry meets Heaven’s smile, part 2, Agni Press, 1974

A demonstration of samadhi

Play video

Questions and answers

The samadhis

What is savikalpa samadhi?
Savikalpa samadhi
The experience
Of Purity-sea

What is nirvikalpa samadhi?
Nirvikalpa samadhi
The experience
Of loftiest

What is sahaja samadhi?
Sahaja samadhi
Reality’s message simplified:
Ignorance lost
Immortality won.

In the Cosmic Game
You discover
That you eternally and supremely are
What all along,
From time immemorial,
You have been
Helplessly and desperately
Aspiring to become.

Sri Chinmoy, The Dance of Life, part 15, Agni Press, 1973


Sri Chinmoy on Sahaja Samadhi and Hinduism

Play video



Meditation-Silence 5: Concentration – Meditation – Contemplation

Play video
 One can find more about samadhi and self-realization in Sri Chinmoy’s book The Summits of God-Life: Samadhi and Siddhi, available at Amazon and Sri Chinmoy Library.

Related videos